Using Third Party Extensions in Maps – How and Why

Apple has recently opened Apple Maps up to third-party developer to make this app a one-stop shop for travellers. Not only can you get directions, you can also easily find fuel, food, and entertainment. You can also now call a ride, read reviews of places, and even make reservations – all without leaving the app. Get the lowdown here.

Continue reading
February 21, 2017

Getting The Most Out Of Apple Maps in iOS 10

Apple Maps is transformed in iOS10. In this post we walk through the key features and improvements and then detail step-by-step instructions on how to transform Maps into a high-end awesome Sat-Nav with some unique smart features.

Continue reading
February 21, 2017

Apple Pushes Portrait Mode on iPhone 7

Apple has released three videos in the last week extolling the virtues of the camera on iPhone 7 and what can realistically be achieved. The camera is the one function on the iPhone 7 that saw significant improvement and these videos are out to show it off.

Continue reading
February 15, 2017

How To Search For Photos in iOS 10

Did you know that you can now search photos in iOS10? That means that you cansearch through all your pictures and find pictures based on date or location but also some amazing clever content searches. This is really smart stuff – find out more in this detailed ‘how to’ article.

Continue reading
February 8, 2017

Apple Removes iCloud Activation Page – How It Affects You

There used to be a tool supplied by Apple to check whether an iPhone or iPad you were offered for sale was lost or stolen – not nay more. Apple have removed the iCloud Activation Lock without any explanation. Here’s what we know.

Continue reading
February 1, 2017

Family Sharing: A Complete Guide

Apple’s Family Sharing tools in iOS and OS allow for shared photos, apps, music and lots more. It offers savings on purchases from the App Store as well as flexible sharing. In this complete guide we show you how to get set up and how to get the most out of your Family Sharing.

Continue reading
January 18, 2017

How Do You Know If You Have iCloud?


You can easily find out if you already have an iCloud account.


Firstly look to see if there is any iCloud account information in these places:


On your iOS device (iPhone or iPad), go to Settings > iCloud. If you have an iCloud account active then you will see an email address under the iCloud setting heading.


On your Mac, choose Apple Menu > System Preferences, then click iCloud.


If there is no evidence of an iCloud account you can head to https://www.icloud.com and try to log in with your Apple ID and password (if you don't have those, scroll up this page for information on how to find them).


If you have an active iCloud account associated with that Apple ID you'll be able to log in to it at the iCloud site. If those Apple ID details don't allow you to login to iCloud then it's pretty safe to say that you don't have an iCloud account.


What is the iCloud?


In short, iCloud is the system created by Apple in June 2011 to seamlessly synchronise information and files between devices connected via an Apple ID. Data is pushed to all connected devices from an iCloud account where data can be stored and backed up.


How Do I Make a New iCloud Account?


If you're looking to get a new Apple ID or get one for the first time to set up an iCloud account for the first time, read 'How to Set Up iCloud' above, which walks you through the steps.


However, if you have an iCloud account already but need another, then read this carefully....


You may find a need to remove an iCloud account associated with your iPhone or iPad. This usually happens only for people who have used more than one iCloud account or Apple ID - perhaps for other family members (which is definitely not recommended).

Or maybe you need to swap to a different account or create a new iCloud login for some reason.


The process is easy in iOS, but make sure that you understand why you're doing it, because when you do, deleting the account removes all documents that are stored in iCloud from your iPhone or iPad.


Note that, in fact, you can't ever truly delete the iCloud account itself.


It will still be there should you ever need to login to it (over the web or however - all as laid out in this article), so in this scenario you are deleting it from your device.


Of course, once you've done that you are free to ignore it and just use a newly created iCloud account - safe in the knowledge that it's still there should you ever need to dig it back up.


Another word of warning - deleting the iCloud account from your device can lead to a whole range of tricky issues, so think twice and be certain before you go ahead. A single user with more than one iCloud account and corresponding Apple ID is not a good idea. Rationalising multiple iCloud accounts that you set up before you knew what you were doing is therefore sensible but do proceed with caution!


If you delete an iCloud account from your device without certainty you could create a whole bunch of errors, including failures and irregular iMessage delivery and receipt, loss of data syncing via iCloud, inability to use or reinstall previously paid for Apps that are associated with an Apple ID, loss of previous iCloud backups and much more.


In short, do not delete your iCloud account from your iPhone or iPad unless you are sure that you know exactly the reason for doing it and you understand the potential issues and risks!


It’s a very good idea to back up your iPhone or iPad using iTunes (the only complete backup!) before going ahead with an iCloud account change or deletion - just in case you cause a major meltdown!


To removing your existing iCloud Account from your iOS device, go to Settings > iCloud.


Scroll down under all the settings to find 'Sign Out' and tap on that.


Confirm the removal of the iCloud account from the device by tapping on 'Sign Out'.


Note that older versions of iOS use 'Delete Account' in the iCloud settings screen. It's the same thing and if you're running an old iOS clicking 'Delete' on the next screen will log you out of the iCloud account on that device.


This then removes all documents that are stored or syncing from that iCloud account from your iPhone or iPad, but not from that iCloud account itself.


Once the old iCloud account has been removed from your iOS device, you'll be left with a blank iCloud panel on the iCloud Settings screen. Now you will be able to create a new Apple ID and login to your new iCloud account, or change to another existing iCloud account.



Need to Know More About iCloud? Then sign up for this FREE 10 Essential Tips Guide To help get you started.

x